Search:     Advanced search

RealTeam FAQ

Article ID: 150
Last updated: 21 Jul, 2020

RealTeam FAQ

What is RealTeam?

RealTeam™ is Stenograph’s simultaneous editing feature. RealTeam allows realtime editing (sharing of text, globals, and audio) with one or more scopists/proofreaders while the reporter is writing realtime. All the RealTeam participants have access to the text and audio.  All globals can be shared with each connected RealTeam user’s Global Table.

RealTeam is not limited to just a realtime setting.  It can also be used while just editing. For example, let’s say that realtime is over, and the reporter goes home for the day.  The scopist can continue working on the transcript and even invite the proofreader to make a final pass at editing. Together, they can review the audio to create a perfect Transcript!

Am I eligible to use RealTeam?

If you are an e-Key licensed Case CATalyst Pro, VP, and Edit user, with version 20 or above and an Edge plan, you are eligible to use RealTeam.

How do I update to version 20 or higher?

If you’re on version 19 or below and have a current Edge plan, click Help, then Check for Updates.  Follow the prompts to install the available update.  If you do not have a current Edge plan, you will need to purchase an Edge for CATalyst plan before you are eligible to install Version 20. Give Stenograph a call at 1-800-323-4247 or email sales@stenograph.com to learn more about Edge for CATalyst and your eligibility.

What happens to RealTeam if I let my Edge plan expire?

You will no longer be able to initiate RealTeam sessions or receive invites from other RealTeam users.

I use a Case CATalyst Student license, can I use RealTeam?

A Student license is not eligible for RealTeam.

How do I get started using RealTeam?

If you’re using Case CATalyst version 20 or higher, click on File, then click on RealTeam Ready.  Once the RealTeam dialog box appears, you can either log in with your existing Cloud Backup account or create a new RealTeam account.

How many computers can be used with RealTeam?

RealTeam can be used with each e-Key licensed Case CATalyst computer.

How many users can be connected to RealTeam at once?

There isn’t a limit to the number of connected users, but keep in mind, the more users connected to the host, the more computer resources are used and may affect performance.

Do the connected users also receive the audio file?

Yes, all connected users will receive the host’s audio file in the same codec used by the host.

What is the minimum Internet speed I need to be able to send audio?

A broadband connection is recommended for use with RealTeam. There is not a minimum speed spec. Download speed and upload speed can have an impact on how quickly audio can transfer over the RealTeam connection. However, RealTeam is mostly the transfer of text and text change information. It is not a bandwidth-intensive service. If you do have a low upload speed (e.g., 5Mbps or less), we would recommend using the lowest Opus codec setting (OPUS 13 kbps 6 MB/hr) to experience the least amount of lag. Some audio lag should be expected, though, with slow upload speeds.

If my reporter is finished with the job and disconnects from RealTeam and I continue to edit the job, can she reconnect to me and receive all my edits?

Yes, if the reporter invites you again to the same job, the job will update with your changes.

Can I invite a scopist when I start Realtime if they are going to edit the job later?

Yes, you can.  You can send the invite at any time, and when the scopist logs into RealTeam, they will instantly receive the invite.

Can two scopists who are working with a reporter continue working in RealTeam after the reporter is finished and left for the day?

Yes, they can, but one of the scopists will have to invite the other to join a new RealTeam session.  The invited scopist will then receive a copy of the job and audio with an “_1” at the end of the filename.

If the host and one of the scopists is on Case CATalyst version 21 or higher, the host can transfer the "hosting role" using the Transfer to User feature.

What happens if we edit the same part of a transcript?

The last change will be reflected in the transcript.

Prev   Next
Log into RealTeam     Transfer to User


Copyright 1996-2020 Stenograph, L.L.C.• All rights reserved.